If I was a fill-in doctor – Tips4EyeDocs Daily 08Feb2012 – 47

If you are a fill in doctor, you might feel like a world traveler. Each morning, as you prepare for work, you might or might not know what city, what office, or even what room you might use or be in.  And like a frequent traveler, you might think about what you will need to pack for that office you will be in.

As a fill in doctor myself, I will bring some equipment. This is a partial list of that I would recommend for any fill in doctor.

  1. Tape measure – Cloth at least 3 feet and retractable. I like to measure reading distances and this demonstrates to the patient you asked about it.
  2. A favorite fundus lens – Frequently, the fundus lens available at the office might not be your favorite. I like the Super Vitreous Fundus Lens (134 degree view) by Volk. There are others that are equally capable. If you like the 90D lens, bring that.
  3. Reading cards – I like my Spanish language cards and because they are smaller than the traditional larger cards, they fit easily into my shirt or clinic coat breast pocket.  If I have to run from room to room, these cards are always with me.
  4. Retinoscopy rack – If I have to do retinoscopy or check the optics of a contact lens fit, these multiple lens racks are ideal.  I have used them to do spherical-best guess cylinder refractions in field optometry.
  5. Binocular Indirect Ophthalmoscope  (BIO) – Yes. often I will bring a BIO but I won’t unpack until I find out how usable the existing one is. My BIO has accessory lenses for near work and therefore, I won’t need to use the reading portion of my own glasses to see the virtual fundus image.  With this “BIO kit”, I will have my 20D lens
  6. A small flash LED flashlight. It’s great for muscle balance testing or just findings things in the dark.
  7. Copy of optometry license, certificates, etc. – I always have it just to ensure the office and the patients that I ‘m licensed in their state. I will also include a copy of my DEA certificate and my professional insurance policy.
  8. Fixation targets – I carry finger puppets with me and they are great for children or even adult patients to check on eye alignment and conjunctive eye movements.
  9. Sample independent contractor agreement if one is needed.

In summary, I like to be prepared when I enter another doctor’s office. In this way, I can blend into the workflow without disrupting their routine.  If you have suggestions for additions or deletions to this list, please feel free to comment on this blog.

About Richard Hom OD, MPA

Dr. Hom holds Doctor of Optometry and Masters in Public Administration degrees and practices family eye care and consults on public policy, health information technology and program evaluation.
This entry was posted in Practice Management and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If I was a fill-in doctor – Tips4EyeDocs Daily 08Feb2012 – 47

  1. Bring your own retinoscope. You always get better results using your own. Especially on those with special needs or physical challenges that can’t sit for an autorefractor.

Leave a Reply

